Ang3lFir3 – Life as a Code Poet

June 18, 2006

LINQ: I finally got a chance to play with it.

Filed under: Microsoft, technology, Uncategorized, Visual Basic 2005, Visual Studio 2005 — ang3lfir3 @ 1:26 am

I finally got a chance to play with LINQ (Language Integrated Query) for a few minutes today. What can I say other than Wow!…

The thing I had the most fun with was the direct integration of XML. Being able to define an object using XML right in the IDE was pretty cool. I'm not yet entirely sure how useful it will be beyond defining singleton objects, but I'm willing to bet that its far more useful than the couple of minutes I spent getting used to the idea led me to believe. Hey, I was impressed… but that can often be easy so you never know.

As I mentioned before the ability to loop over and search Objects quickly within the code is one of LINQ's greatest achievements. It gives us another layer of abstraction that we can use to really relate to the code in a real world intuitive manner. I see heavy use of LINQ in the future of development, especially mine.

If you haven't already seen this video on Channel9 with Anders Hejlsberg, one of my favorite personalities, (yes thats odd I know) and Sam Druker you really need to take the time to watch it.

And for your own sake download and install the LINQ CTP. Play around and do something crazy, you'll be glad you did!

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

